Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

Guest Artist Space Foundation (G.A.S.) and Yinka Shonibare Foundation (Y.S.F.) are delighted to announce a call out for the second edition of the annual G.A.S. Fellowship Award.

Yinka Shonibare CBE at G.A.S. Lagos. Photographer: Ademola Odusami for Laah Photography

Three funded 6-8week residencies will be offered to practitioners based in West Africa between September 2023 and March 2024 with two taking place in Lagos and one at our sister location on the G.A.S. Ecology GreenFarm in Ijebu.

The Foundation is committed to facilitating multidisciplinary access to this opportunity therefore, applications are welcome from individuals practicing in all relevant creative fields that could range from visual art, craft, architecture, design, and curatorial research.

The sophomore edition of the G.A.S. Fellowship Award is generously supported by Still Earth Holdings and the Foundation’s Residency Patrons. Each fellowship is fully funded offering room and board, return travel expenses to Lagos, a stipend of 100,000 NGN per week, a total materials allowance of 100,000 NGN, and access to a range of resources and pastoral support.

This second edition of the prestigious award particularly welcomes applications from emerging practitioners and those whose practice is rooted in or responds to, the following areas:

  • Materiality: the exploration and use of matter, materials used in the creation, and formation of artwork
  • Ecology, Food and Environment: those exploring climate impact, social justice, food production, and works in the natural world
  • History in the Present: using historical materials to rethink the present (archives, objects/image collections, storytelling aural/written)

The call-out is careful to prioritise accessibility by staying open to all creative fields, even within the framework of the outlined themes, so that those with less fortunate circumstances can apply and access the opportunity. G.A.S. Foundation does not ask for any work in return for completing the residency but asks that the selected practitioners think about how they could contribute to the cultural life and public programme in either Lagos or Ijebu. The activation, which will be coordinated and supported by the G.A.S. team in Lagos, will be dependent on the practice and experience of the selected applicant but could be anything from a masterclass, workshop, talk or event with students, peers or wider public.

The seven winners of the inaugural G.A.S. Fellowship Award announced in February 2022 were Laeïla Adjovi, Sarafadeen Bello, Femi Johnson, Samuel Nnorom, Tobi Onabolu, Ofem Ubi, and Uzor Ugoala.

More information about the award including application details can be found here.

The deadline for applications is the 13th of August 2023.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top