Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

Carthage Film Festival is the oldest international festival of its kind in Africa. Set in Tunis, the event ran from the 21 – 28 November, showcasing some of the most outstanding film production from Africa, the Middle East, parts of Europe and South America, with a particular emphasis on cinema from North Africa. ART AFRICA were fortunate enough to attend the award ceremony and would like to take this oppurtunity to congratulate not only the winners, but everbody who contributed to the 2015 festival’s cultural wealth.

AA CarthageAwards1


Feature Film Competition:


Golden Tanit: Mohamed Mouftakir (Morocco) – The Blind Orchestra

Silver Tanit: Oliver Hermanus (South Africa) – The Endless River

Bronze Tanit: Leyla Bouzid (Tunisia/France) – As I Open My Eyes


As I Open My Eyes also won the UGTT Prize and the FIPRESCI Award.


Short Film Competition:


Golden Tanit: Alaeddin About Taleb (Tunisia) – Diaspora

Silver Tanit: Aliou Sow (Senegal) – Mother Earth

Bronze Tanit: Omar Belkacemi (Algeria) – The Wave


AA CarthageAwards2


Special Jury Prize:

Nabil Ayouch (Morocco) – Much Loved


Documentary Film Competition:


Golden Tanit: Hassen Ferhani (Algeria) – Fi Rassi Rond-Point

Silver Tanit: Abbas Fahdel (Iraq) – Homeland-Iraq Year Zero

Bronze Tanit: Yasmin Fedda (Syria) – Queens of Syria (which also received the CREDIF prize, awarded to the best female director of a feature film).


The Best Screenplay Award:

Hisham Zaman (Iraq) – Letter to the King


The Best Actor Award:

Adlane Djemi (Algeria) – Madame Courage


The Best Actress Award:

Maïmouna N’Diaye (Burkina Faso) – Eye of the Storm


AA CarthageAwards3


Carthage Ciné-Promesses competition:


Golden Tanit: Kayis Emre (Turkey) – The Translator

CNCI Jury Award: Christophe Saber (Egypt) – Discipline


Jury’s Special Mention: 

Medina del Valle Marta (Spain) – Awake


Debut Film Competition:

Tahar Cheriaa Award: Hassen Ferhani (Algeria) – Fi Rassi Rond-Point


AA CarthageAwards4


TV5 Monde Jury Award:

Leyla Bouzid (Tunisia/France) – As I Open My Eyes

Sibs Shongwe (South Africa) – Necktie Youth


The Jury’s Special Mention:

Lofti Bouchouchi (Algeria) – Le Puits


Takmil Workshop Grant:

Nesrine El-Zayat (Egypt) – On the Fence

Iman Kamel (Egypt) – Egyptian Jeanne d’Arc


AA CarthageAwards5


AA CarthageAwards6

AA CarthageAwards7

Related Posts

Scroll to Top