Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The 25 shortlisted projects – in alphabetical order by artist– were chosen by a panel of 20 international judges.

The Contemporary African Photography Prize, in partnership with the Eiger Foundation (CAP Prize), has announced the 25 shortlisted projects for its 12th annual edition. The prize is directed at photographers who engage with the African continent or its diaspora. The five winning entries will be showcased in a series of exhibitions in collaboration with significant photography events in Africa and the rest of the world to raise the profile of African photography.

  • Robin Bernstein, United Kingdom 
  • Bright Charles, Nigeria
  • Kwasi Darko, Ghana
  • Yagazie Emezi, Nigeria
  • Nadja Ettwein, South Africa
  • Yassmin Forte, Mozambique
  • Maheder Haileselassie, Ethiopia
  • Carlos Idun-Tawiah, Ghana
  • Jonathan Jasberg, USA
  • Bontle Juku, South Africa
  • Issam Larkat, Algeria
  • Mohamed Mahdy, Egypt
  • Alisa Martynova, Italy
  • Merji, Morocco
  • Obakeng Molepe, South Africa
  • Kriss Munsya, Canada
  • Neec Nonso, Nigeria
  • Emeke Obanor, Nigeria
  • Léonard Pongo, Congo DR
  • Lamees Saleh, Egypt
  • Antonia Steyn, South Africa
  • Jono Terry, United Kingdom
  • Geremew Tigabu, Ethiopia
  • Elliott Verdier, France
  • Kyle Weeks, The Netherlands

Over the last 12 years, the CAP Prize has become the world’s leading platform showcasing Contemporary African Fine Art Photography. The CAP Prize celebrates contemporary African photography and provides a platform for photographers to showcase their work to a global audience. The competition seeks to challenge dominant narratives about Africa and to promote diverse and authentic representations of the continent and its people.

The CAP Prize panel of judges comprises international experts from the field of photography and is reformed annually. The CAP Prize 2023 panel of judges includes these 20 fine individuals in alphabetical order:

  • Stephanie Blomkamp, Editor & Publisher. Oath Magazine, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Julie Bonzon, Curator. London, United Kingdom
  • Essé Dabla Attikpo, Curator. This No Be Art – Art Consultancy, Maisons-Alfort, France
  • Tandazani Dhlakama, Curator. Zeitz MOCAA, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Oyindamola Fakeye, Artistic Director. Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria.
  • John Fleetwood, Director. Photo:, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Benjamin Füglister, Founding Director. CAP Prize, Basel, Switzerland
  • Sophia Greiff, Curator. C/O Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • Nanina Guyer, Curator. Museum Rietberg, Zürich, Switzerland
  • Ala Kheir, Curator & Photographer. TOV (The Other Vision), Khartoum, Sudan
  • Anna Kućma, Founder & Editor. FOTEA and Editor at ZAM Magazine, The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Jeanne Mercier, Curator. Editor, Afrique in visu, Marseille, France
  • Andreas Müller-Pohle, Artist and Publisher. European Photography, Berlin, Germany
  • Paul Ninson, Curator & Photographer. Dikan Center, Accra, Ghana 
  • Anne Nwakalor, Editor & Publisher. No! Wahala Magazine, Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Uche Okpa-Iroha, Founding Director. The Nlele Institute, Lagos, Nigeria
  • Jürg Schneider, Critic & Historian. African Photography Initiatives, Basel, Switzerland
  • Meryem Sebti, Editor. Dyptik Magazine, Casablanca, Morocco
  • Fiona Shields, Head of Photography. Guardian News & Media Group, London, United Kingdom
  • Mikko Takkunen, Editor. The New York Times, New York City, USA

For more information, please visit the CAP Prize.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top