Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The Durban International Film Festival has finalised selection for this year’s edition of Talent Campus Durban (22-26 July).

Nearly 50 filmmakers representing 16 African countries – Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Iivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, and Zimbabwe – will converge on Durban to take part in an intensive programme of workshops and masterclasses during the first five days of the festival. The Talents, who were selected through a rigorous application process, will also have the opportunity to attend screenings and events at the 32nd Durban International Film Festival which runs from 21-31 July. Themed Africa in Motion, the 4th Talent Campus Durban this year also includes a Doc Station component where three selected talents will receive expert mentoring before pitching their documentary projects to financiers, commissioning editors and potential co-producers within the Durban FilmMart. Monica Rorvik, Talent Campus manager and assistant manager of the DIFF, comments that “Talent Campus Durban has already made a significant contribution to growing both skills and opportunities for African filmmakers. The festival has noted more film submissions coming from talents – this year DIFF is screening many films by previous Talent Campus participants. Career paths are opening up internationally for some of them, such as Cameroonian filmmaker Ariane Astrid Adoji, whose first film premiered in DIFF 2010 and was then picked up for screenings at Goteborg, Dubai and HotDocs festivals, winning an award in Dubai. Ariane returns to Durban this year with a new project in the Durban FilmMart.” Talent Campus Durban is a partnership project between the Durban International Film Festival in cooperation with the Berlinale Talent Campus and the Berlin International Film Festival, and is supported by the German Embassy in South Africa, the Goethe-Institut, and the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism. Apart from the main event in Berlin, Talent Campus partnerships also take place at selected festivals in Buenos Aires, Guadalajara and Sarajevo. A further Talent Campus is envisaged for Japan. Opportunities for participating talents are enhanced through Talent Campus networks and the Berlinale’s global information platform. The Durban International Film Festival is organised by the Centre For Creative Arts (University of KwaZulu-Natal) with support by the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (principal funder), National Film and Video Foundation, KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism, HIVOS, City Of Durban, German Embassy, Goethe Institut, and a range of other valued partners. LIST OF TALENT CAMPUS DURBAN PARTICIPANTS 2011 Kitso Lynn Lelliott, BotswanaEudes Narcisse Wandji Ngassa, CameroonLassina Koné, Côte D’ivoireAhmed Ghonemi, EgyptNadine Salib Abdel Said, EgyptEskindir Tefera Mengistu, EthiopiaYinekachew Shumete Desalegn, EthiopiaCedric Ido, FranceAkosua Adoma Owusu, GhanaKwaku Duah Prempeh, GhanaNatasha Likimani, KenyaPeggy Mbiyu, Kenya (also in Doc Station Durban)Zipporah Nyaruri, KenyaThabiso Mohapeloa, LesothoCoulibaly Daouda, MaliBodunrin Iruemiobe, NigeriaPeter Chidiebere Omewiri – Pius, NigeriaMugwaneza Richard, RwandaAnel Alexander, South AfricaAnthonie Van Der Walt, South AfricaCalum Macnaughton, South AfricaDuduetsang Makuse, South AfricaDylan Valley, South Africa (also in Doc Station Durban)Gavillan Letsoalo, South AfricaGuy Sclanders, South AfricaJarryn Katia, South AfricaJonathan Caramanus , South AfricaKyle Lewis, South AfricaMandilakhe Yengo, South AfricaMark Edwards, South AfricaMatthew Jankes, South AfricaMolefi Lebone, South AfricaMthokozisi Lembethe, South AfricaPadraic O’meara, South AfricaRishane Rajkoomar, South AfricaRudzani Muthambi, South AfricaSean Drummond, South AfricaTiny Mungwe, South AfricaTshegohatso Molete, South AfricaYashvir Bagwandeen, South AfricaZachariah Rapola, South AfricaNonhlanhla Benji Dlamini, Swaziland (also in Doc Station Durban)Agnes Kamya, UgandaJoseph Kenneth Ssebaggala, UgandaRehema Nanfuka, UgandaLydia “Sue-Ellen” Chitunya, ZimbabweRudo Chakanyuka, ZimbabweSimon De Swardt, Zimbabwe

Related Posts

Scroll to Top