Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The Fugard Theatre Studio hosts the first Silent Revolution Winter Jazz Series from 7-9 July.

Silent Revolution Music in association with the Standard Bank Jazz Festival, Grahamstown and Eastern Cape Jazz Promotions presents the first Winter Jazz Series, at the Fugard Theatre Studio in Cape Town from 7 — 9 July. The three nights will each have 2 shows, starting at 19:30. The Silent Revolution Winter Jazz Series line-up at the Fugard Theatre Studio features many of the artists that would have then just returned from the Standard Bank Jazz Festival in Grahamstown, including four Standard Bank Young Artist Award (SBYAA) winners for Jazz. The Silent Revolution Winter Jazz Series opens on Thursday 7 July at 19:30 with Soweto Kinch featuring Soweto Kinch (Sax) from the UK, Kesivan Naidoo (drums) — SBYAA Jazz 2009, Shane Cooper (double bass), Dave Ledbetter (guitar) and Bokani Dyer (piano) — SBYAA 2011. At 21:00 the Emily Bruce Quartet will feature Andrew Lilley (piano), Charles Lazar (bass), Heinrich Goosen (drums) and special guest from Sweden Fredrik Norén on trumpet. On Friday 8 July at 19:30 Melanie Scholtz & the dirty trio (Kesivan Naidoo (drums), Shane Cooper (double bass), Bokani Dyer (piano) and Melanie Scholtz (vocals) — SBYAA 2010), will perform with special guest Mark Fransman (sax) — SBYAA 2008. At 21:00 Andreas Schaerer (vocals), Bänz Oester (double bass) from Switzerland will perform with special guest Mark Fransman (sax). The Gavin Minter Septet will be on stage at 19:30 on Saturday 9 July, with Lee Thomson (Trumpet and Flugelhorn), Dan Shout (Alto Saxophone and Clarinet), Buddy Wells (Tenor Saxophone and Flute), Kevin Gibson (Drums), Andrew Lilley (Piano), Charles Lazar (Double Bass) and Gavin Minter (Vocals). The final performance of the weekend at 21:00 features Tina Schouw (vocals/guitar), Kevin Gibson (drums), Wesley Rustin (double bass), Lodi Paul Inga (guitar), Mark Fransman (piano/accordion/clarinet) and Gavin Minter (percussion). The partners for this first Silent Revolution Winter Jazz series are Kawai piano, Pro Helvetia, the British Council, Standard Bank and Eastern Acoustic. Tickets for the Silent Revolution Winter Jazz Series are R120 per night (including 2 performances) and bookings can be made through www.computicket.co.za , or by phoning the Fugard Theatre Box Office on 021 461 4554 – doors open at 19:00. Silent Revolution Music is the coming together of well-known Cape Town Jazz musicians Kesivan Naidoo and Lee Thomson in conjunction with business guru Marie Wilcox. We aim to stimulate the growth of the South African Jazz circuit through world class events such as the Silent Revolution Winter Jazz Series 2011. “I believe that creative people with new ideas is what is going to make this country work” says Kesivan Naidoo. www.silentrevolutionmusic.com About the Fugard Theatre: The 280-cinema style seater Fugard Theatre is located within the historic Sacks Futeran building in Cape Town’s District Six, with the renovated Congregational Church Hall in Caledon Street as its entrance. Construction of The Fugard Theatre was underwritten by its founding producer Eric Abraham, and is named in honour of Athol Fugard, South Africa’s greatest playwright. All seating is now reserved and can be booked on line at www.computicket.com or the box office on 021 461 4554. 

Related Posts

Scroll to Top