Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

On Tuesday, September 12, the names of the five new Praemium Imperiale Laureates were announced in New York, London, Paris, Rome, Berlin and Tokyo. The 5 recipients are as follows:

Shirin Neshat                Painting

El Anatsui                     Sculpture

Rafael Moneo                Architecture

Youssou N’Dour            Music

Mikhail Baryshnikov      Theatre/Film


The artists are recognized and awarded for their achievements, for the impact they have had internationally on the arts, and for their role in enriching the global community. Each laureate receives an honorarium of 15 million yen and a testimonial letter. A medal will be presented by Prince Hitachi, honorary patron of the Japan Art Association, in an awards ceremony held in Tokyo on October 18, 2017
On October 19, at 16:00 there will be a commemorative architecture lecture by Rafael Moneo and on October 20, at 13:30 an artist-talk by Shirin Neshat.


The Grant for Young Artists was announced on September 12 in New York, and 2017 recipient of the Grant is Zoukak Theatre Company and Cultural Association (Lebanon). The Company will receive 5 million yen to assist its efforts to help young artists.

For more information: http://www.praemiumimperiale.org/en/

FEATURED IMAGE: El Anatsui, Dissolving Continents (Detail), 2017. Aluminium and copper, 3.6 x 9 metres.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top