Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The South African New Play Writing Programme (SANPWP) travels to the National Arts Festival, Grahamstown.

Wits Theatre in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, the British Council, Sustained Theatre UK, the National Arts Festival Grahamstown, Artscape, the South African State Theatre and Space.com @Joburg Theatre present: THE ODYSSEY of the South African New Play Writing Programme (SANPWP) The SANPWP Phase1 was launched by Arts and Culture Minister Paul Mashatile at the Wits Theatre during January 2011; forty submissions were received and a final of ten Cape Town and ten Gauteng successful applicants were selected. Two UK facilitators and one SA facilitator put the participants through their paces at the up-skilling workshops held in Gauteng and Cape Town. The SANPWP more intensive five-day Phase 2 call out was made on 21 April 2011 and once again all were eligible to apply including the participants from Phase 1. The applications for Phase Two of the SANPWP were highly competitive and we received more than thirty submissions which were scored individually by the selection panel. However, only ten were chosen ( Genna Gardini, Hanneke Schutte, Kieran James Reid, Tasha Melissa Govender, Siki Dlanga, Suzy Bell, Mahasa Wizzy Seuoe, Amy Jephta, Julian De Wette and Lerato SinayeDowse) and the lucky winners will be flown to and accommodated in Grahamstown; they will attend five workshop days (July 6-10) during the National Arts Festival (30 June – 10 July). In addition, the South African New Play Writing Programme (SANPWP) team has assembled some of the industry’s key theatre practitioners to be on the panel for a discussion around the topic, The Importance and Challenges of Developing New Plays in South Africa: Adrienne Sichel, Arts journalist Ola Animashawun, Royal Court, London Malcolm Purkey, Artistic Director, Market Theatre Neil Coppen, Standard Bank Young Artist of the Year 2011 – Theatre Greg Homann, Theatre director, writer and academic The discussion will be chaired by Pervaiz Khan (Sustained Theatre UK — curator, producer and arts manager) and the allocated venue is the Glennie Festival Centre (Thursday 7 July 2011 at 16:00) – the order of procedure will be: discussion — 75 minutes; reception — 45 minutes. VENUE: Glennie Festival Centre, Grahamstown SEASON: 6 July — 10 July 2011 ENQUIRIES: 011 717 1376 /

Related Posts

Scroll to Top