Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

Minister Paul Mashatile officially announced the new board members of the National Arts Council of South Africa.

artsouthafrica issues
From the Press Release: “Earlier this month, Cabinet approved the appointment of the following nominees to the National Arts Council: Ms Matlhodi Angelina Makwetla (Appointed the Chairperson – her expertise is Fundraising); Prof. Gessler Moses Nkondo (Literature Policy);Mr Mohau Samuel Mphomela (Finance & Corporate Governance); Ms Phyllis Klotz (Dance); Mr Shadrack Bokaba (Music); Ms Nwabisa Mavuso (Community Arts); Ms Erica Elk (Visual Arts & Craft); Ms Seipate Bernice Dichabe (Music); Ms Nakedi Ribane (Theatre); Dr Mordacai Nangakhulu Lidhovo (Legal) and Mr Bob Mabena (Marketing & Communications). Provincial Members appointed by the MECs will make up the rest of the National Arts Council Members. The whole process of choosing new members was transparent and according to policy. A three member panel headed by Prof. Andries Oliphant was appointed by the Minister. The panel was given comprehensive files of 127 candidates. They went through each one and short-listed 28 persons. They then used the following criteria to select the likely members: – Expertise and experience – Understanding of the mandate of the NAC – Management and governance skills and experience – Artistic vision and values taking into account the diversity of cultural communities in SA – Knowledge of the Policy and the management of the resources – Communication, marketing and fundraising for the NAC The National Arts Council is an integral part of the Arts and Culture sector. It serves to provide up and coming artists and groups in the various disciplines a grant to start them off in their chosen field of the arts. Due to its pivotal role, it has contributed immensely to the arts development. The Ministry & Department of Arts and Culture, would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the new members on their appointment to the council of one our important arts bodies. “We believe that under the new leadership, the NAC will continue to live up to its mission and vision. With their expertise and wealth of experience, the NAC will play a key role in our national effort to ensure nation building and social cohesion,” said the Minister at the inauguration. Ms Matlhodi Angelina MakwetlaNAC ChairpersonMs Makwetla is an Entrepreneur with extensive business experience. She runs her own business, Makwetla & Associates cc, which specialises in communication and media strategies. Her company was nominated as a leading media agency by PR Week in 2008. She is a founder and president of the Concerned Professional Women’s Forum (CPWF). She is also a member of: Businesswomen’s Association (BWA), Thusanang Women’s Club and Chairperson of Education Africa. Ms Makwetla is also a former Director of the Trans Caledon Tunnel Authority (TCTA) and a former Trustee of the Market Theatre Foundation. She has studied B.A. Social Work at the University of the North (Limpopo), a Management Certificate from Arthur D Little Management School in Cambridge, Massachusetts and SMME Management Certificate from Galilee College in Israel.”

Related Posts

Scroll to Top