Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The Main Prize Winner of the third edition of the Future Generation Art Prize, receiving $100 000, will be announced on December 6, 2014 by an international distinguished jury, that includes Bisi Silva (Nigeria), in Kyiv, Ukraine. Shortlisted artists include Kudzanai Chiurai (Zimbabwe) and Nàstio Mosquito (Angola).

STORY FutureGenerationArtPrize2014

ABOVE: (From left to right) Kudzanai Chiurai and Nàstio Mosquito. Image source: video stills from Chiurai’s bio video and one of Mosquito’s video works respectively.

The respected international jury consisting of Francesco Bonami (Italy); Jan Fabre (Belgium); Doris Salcedo (Colombia); Eckhard Schneider (Ukraine); Bisi Silva (Nigeria); Adam Szymczyk (Poland); Philip Tinari (China) will go to Kyiv to choose and announce the winner of the main prize who will receive a generous $100, 000 award ($60,000 in cash and $40,000 toward production of a new work).

Following the decision by the jury members, additional $20,000 will be allotted to fund artist-in-residency program to the special prize winners (up to 5 artists).

Exhibition of the 21 shortlisted artists for the third edition of the Future Generation Art Prize is currently on show at the PinchukArtCentre and will be open until January 4, 2014. The exhibition presents newly produced works by the following artists and groups: Neïl Beloufa, 29 (France/ Algeria), Rossella Biscotti, 35 (Italy), James Bridle, 33 (UK), Kudzanai Chiurai 33 (Zimbabwe), Cécile B. Evans, 31 (USA/Belgium), Aslan Gaisumov, 23 (Russia), Ximena Garrido-Lecca, 34 (Peru), He Xiangyu, 27 (China), Jia Aili, 34 (China), Nikita Kadan, 31 (Ukraine), Zhanna Kadyrova, 32 (Ukraine), Mauricio Limón, 34 (Mexico), Adrian Melis, 28 (Cuba), Nástio Mosquito, 32 (Angola), Carlos Motta, 36 (Colombia), Pilar Quinteros, 26 (Chile), Jon Rafman, 32 (Canada), Cally Spooner, 31 (UK), Allyson Vieira, 35 (USA), GCC (Arabian Gulf region) and Public Movement (Israel). 


ABOVE: Kudzanai Chiurai, Moyo, 2013. Image courtesy of PinchukArtCentre.

The 20 shortlisted artists represent 17 different countries. They have been selected from more than 5,500 applications received from 148 countries spread across all continents through the open and democratic online-application procedure. The artists were nominated by 7 members of the Selection Committee, competent and global art-professionals nominated by the Jurors of the Prize.

The 21st nominee for the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 is Zhanna Kadyrova, the winner of the PinchukArtCentre Prize 2013, a national contemporary art prize awarded to young Ukrainian artists up to 35.

In 2010, a Brazilian artist Cinthia Marcelle was the first person to win the Main Prize; Mircea Nicolae from Romania was the only artist to be awarded Special Prize. In 2012 Lynette Yiadom-Boakye from UK became the Main Prize winner; according to the decision of the Jury five artists received Special Prize namely Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil), Micol Assael (Italy), Ahmet Ögüt (Turkey), Rayyane Tabet (Lebanon), and Marwa Arsanios (Lebanon).


ABOVE: Nástio Mosquito, Let Me Kiss Your Butt Cheek, I’ll Let You Kiss Mine! 2014. Image courtesy of PinchukArtCentre.

The International Jury of the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 includes:

  • Francesco Bonami – Curator, Director of the 50th Biennale di Venezia (Italy);
  • Jan Fabre – Artist (Belgium);
  • Doris Salcedo – Artist (Colombia);
  • Eckhard Schneider – General Director of the PinchukArtCentre (Ukraine);
  • Bisi Silva – Independent curator, Director for the Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos (Nigeria);
  • Adam Szymczyk – Artistic director of documenta 14 (Poland);
  • Philip Tinari – Director of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing (China).

The exhibition of 21 shortlisted artists for the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 is open from November 25, 2014 till January 4, 2015 in the PinchukArtCentre, Kyiv, Ukraine

Opening hours: from Tuesday through Sunday from 12 am to 9 pm.

Admission is free.

Related Posts

Scroll to Top