Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

On Wednesday, May 1, 2013, the International Center of Photography will recognize eight honorees at the 29th Annual Infinity Awards Gala including lifetime achievement recipient David Goldblatt.

Born in south africa in 1930, goldblatt has devoted all of his time to photography since the early 1960s. In 1989 he founded the market photo workshop in johannesburg, with the object of teaching visual literacy and photographic skills to young people, with particular emphasis on those disadvantaged by apartheid.

In 1998, he was the first South African to present a solo exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York. His photographs are included in the collections of the South African National Gallery, Cape Town; the Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris; the Victoria and Albert Museum, London; and MoMA. He is the recipient of both the 2006 Hasselblad Award and the 2009 Henri Cartier-Bresson Award, and in 2010 was named the Lucie Award Lifetime Achievement Honoree. Goldblatt was featured in the Rise and Fall of Apartheid exhibition at ICP and the South Africa in Apartheid and After exhibition at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)

The International Center of Photography (ICP) will recognize seven honorees including David Goldblatt for Lifetime Achievement at the 29th Annual Infinity Awards gala event on Wednesday, May 1, 2013, at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers, in New York City. Celebrated at ICP’s largest annual fundraiser, the Infinity Awards are widely respected as the leading honor for excellence in the field of photography. The full range of ICP’s programs, including exhibitions, education, collections, and community outreach benefit from funds raised by the Infinity Awards.
“Each year ICP acknowledges the work of an impressive array of imagemakers whose work challenges and enlightens us,” said ICP Executive Director Mark Robbins. “We are pleased to recognize the achievement of this year’s recipients including David Goldblatt, who has dedicated his career to not only documenting his native South Africa but also to teaching visual literacy and photographic skills to youth disadvantaged by the system of apartheid.”

Since 1985, the annual ICP Infinity Awards have recognized major contributions and emerging talent in the fields of photojournalism, art, fashion photography, and publishing. More than 500 prominent individuals from the business, fashion, philanthropy, art, entertainment, and photography worlds are present to celebrate leading photography professionals and demonstrate their commitment to creative expression and artistic achievement.

Cornell Capa Lifetime Achievement:David Goldblatt
ICP Trustees Award:Pat Schoenfeld
Young Photographer:Kitra Cahana
Art:Mishka Henner
Publication:Cristina de Middel, “The Afronauts”
Photojournalism:David Guttenfelder
Applied/Fashion/Advertising:Erik Madigan Heck
And a special presentation to Academy Award-winning actor and photographer Jeff Bridges
Past winners of the top awards have included:
Elliott Erwitt, Ruth Gruber, Robert Frank, Mary Ellen Mark, Marc Riboud, André Kertész, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Berenice Abbott, Richard Avedon, Harold Evans, Alexander Liberman, Gordon Parks, Helen Levitt, Annie Leibovitz, Lee Friedlander, William Klein, Susan Meiselas, Roy DeCarava, Malick Sidibé, John G. Morris, Karl Lagerfeld, Daidō Moriyama, and Ai Weiwei.

Selection Committee:
The 2013 recipient selection committee includes
Susan Bright, Curator/Writer, New York, NY;Douglas Nickel, Andrea V. Rosenthal Professor of Modern Art, History of Art and Architecture, Brown University; and Ramón Reverté, Editor in Chief and Creative Director, Editorial RM, Mexico/Barcelona.

Related Posts

depo 50 bonus 50

depo 50 bonus 50

depo 25 bonus 25

depo 25 bonus 25

Scroll to Top