Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

Founded in 1994, the Bamako Encounters is collaboratively produced and organised by Mali’s Ministry of Culture and Institut Français, and curated by Bisi Silva with associate curators Yves Chatap and Antawan Byrd. The biennale is the first and principal international platform dedicated to African photography and lens-based art and media on the continent.

STORY Bamako Encounters 2015
ABOVE: Aboubacar Traore, Inchallah, 2015. Image copyright Aboubacar Traore.

In its aim to promote and assess photography-based practices from local and international perspectives, the Bamako Encounters operates as a platform for presenting artwork and cultivating professional relationships among artists, curators, art historians, collectors, and the public more broadly. In addition to its emphasis on engaging local cultural centres, galleries, foundations, and schools, the biennale routinely collaborates with international foundations and cultural organisations to position Bamako as an important site for analysing and sharing recent developments in lens-based media.

39 artists were selected for the Pan-African Exhibition of the 10th Edition of the Bamako Encounters: The African Biennale of Photography. The Bamako Encounters received approximately 800 applications to the Call for the Pan-African Exhibition, which closed on 31 March 2015.

It is the first time in the history of the Biennale that so many applications have been received, which demonstrates the growing interest of photographers and video artists, from the African continent and its Diaspora, of the Bamako Encounters.

The 10th edition of the Bamako Encounters: Biennale of African Photography, will take place from 31 October to 31 December 2015, and will include work by the following artists from across the continent:


Hela Ammar (Tunisie)

Malala Andrialavidrazana (Madagascar)

Khalfa Besma Djemila (Algérie)

Felipe Branquinho (Mozambique)

Seydou Camara (Mali)

Mimi Cherono (Kenya)

Bakary Emmanuel Daou (Mali)

Mounir Fatmi (Maroc/ France)

Uche Okpa Iroha (Nigeria)

Moussa Kalapo (Mali)

Helga Kohl (Namibie)

Youcef Krache (Algérie)

Youssef Lahrichi (Maroc)

George Mahashe (Afrique du Sud)

Nyani Quarmyne (Ghana)

Nassim Rouchiche (Algérie)

Sihem Salhi (Algérie)

Hyppolyte Sama (Burkina Faso)

Jean Euloge Samba (Congo)

Nomwindé Vivien Sawadogo (Burkina Faso)

Thabiso Sekgala (Afrique du Sud)

George Senga (République Démocratique du Congo)

Ibrahima Thiam (Sénégal)

Aboubacar Traore (Mali)

Salif Traore (Mali)

Mudi Yahaya (Nigeria)



Ismaïl Bahri (Tunisie)

Steve Bauras(Martinique)

Collectif Périnium (République Démocratique du Congo)

Bakary Diallo (Mali)

Em’Kal Eyongakpa (Cameroun)

Coco Fusco (Cuba/ USA)

Simon Gush (Afrique du Sud)

Lebohang Kganye (Afrique du Sud)

Kitso Lelliot (Botswana)

Randa Maroufi (Maroc)

Monica Miranda (Angola/ Portugal)

Lucia Nhamo (Zimbabwe)

The Otolith Group (United Kingdom)

Related Posts

Scroll to Top