Writing Art History Since 2002

First Title

The eagerly awaited announcement of the winners for the 2013 Standard Bank Young Artist Awards took place at a function in Johannesburg last night.

The Standard Bank Young Artist Awards are presented annually to young South African artists who are either on the threshold of national acclaim or whose artistic excellence has enabled them to make international breakthroughs. This year, an award for Performance Art has been presented for the first time.

“This year’s group of Standard Bank Young Artists are celebrated for their vibrant and cutting edge creativity, their amazing intricacy of creative expression and their enormous talents which contribute to developing a stronger and more prosperous creative economy, and also to making a significant contribution towards defining our country’s cultural identity,” said National Arts Festival Director, Ismail Mahomed.

The winners of the 2013 Standard Bank Young Artist Awards are:

Fana Tshabalala for Dance
Runette Botha for Music
Mary Sibande for Visual Art
Prince Lamla for Drama
Shane Cooper for Jazz
Anthea Moys for Performance Art

“The Standard Bank Young Artist Award gives recognition to the trajectory that their professions are taking to reflect the multifarious ways in which these artists work and to recognise the excellence of their work. They join an esteemed and celebrated group of previous winners of this prestigious award,” added Mahomed.

As part of their prize, each of the winners will be featured on the Main programme of the 2013 National Arts Festival in Grahamstown (27 June – 7 July 2013), where they will be given the opportunity to develop and première new works. The winners are also given various opportunities to represent South Africa on international stages as a result of their association with the Award. Mandie van der Spuy, Standard Bank Head of Arts and Jazz Sponsorship said,
“Standard Bank is proud to have been associated with these prestigious awards for 29 years. Our support has contributed to nurturing and promoting the careers of many talented artists who have achieved great acclaim nationally and many at international level as well. Apart from ensuring that South Africa’s artistic heritage is preserved, we see our investment in the arts as a significant contributor to the social cohesion of our diverse cultures while simultaneously contributing to the local economy”.

Ends Profiles of winners to follow. Pictures are available on request. Note to editors
Previous Winners
1981 Richard Grant, John Theodore, Jules van de Vijver 1982 Janice Honeyman, Neil Rodger, Lindy Raizenberg 1983 Paul Slabolepszy, Malcolm Payne, David Kosviner 1984 Peter Schütz, Ken Leach Standard Bank – 1820 Foundation 10th Anniversary Special Award: Lamar Crowson, 1985 Marion Arnold, Maishe Maponya, Sidwill Hartman 1986 Andrew Buckland, Gavin Younge 1987 William Kentridge, Hans Roosenschoon 1988 Margaret Vorster, Mbongeni Ngema 1989 Johnny Clegg, Marthinus Basson, Helen Sebidi, Gary Gordon 1820 Foundation Special Award Pieter-Dirk Uys 1990 Robyn Orlin, Fée Halsted-Berning, Bonnie Ntshalintshali 1991 Peter Ngwenya, Andries Botha, Darrell Roodt 1992 Deon Opperman, Tommy Motswai, Raphael Vilakazi, Kevin Harris 1993 Christopher Kindo, Sibongile Khumalo, Pippa Skotnes 1994 Jerry Mofokeng, Sam Nhlengethwa, Michael Williams 1995 Jane Alexander, Boyzie Cekwana, John Ledwaba, Abel Motsoadi 1996 Lara Foot Newton, Trevor Makhoba, Vincent Mantsoe, Victor Masondo 1997 Lien Botha, Geoffrey Hyland, Sibongile Mngoma Standard Bank Special Award for vision, commitment and contribution, Alfred Hinkel 1998 David Mudanalo Matamela, Debbie Rakusin, Bongani Ndodana, Nhlanhla Xaba, Aubrey Sekhabi 1999 No awards made. 2000 Zenzi Mbuli, Gloria Bosman, Alan Alborough 2001 Tracey Human, Brett Bailey, Fikile Mvinjelwa, Walter Oltmann 2002 Gregory Vuyani Moqoma, Sello Maake Ka Ncube, Prince Kupi, Brett Murray 2003 Moya Michael, Yael Faber, Dumisani Phakathi, Angela Gilbert, Berni Searle 2004 Kathryn Smith, Mncedisi Shabangu, Portia Lebohang Mashigo, Tutu Puone, Moses Taiwa Molelekwa (posthumously) 2005 Wim Botha, P J Sabbagha, Andile Yenana, Mpumelelo Grootboom 2006 Concord Nkabinde, Churchill Madikida, Hlengiwe Lushaba, Sylvaine Strike 2007 Acty Tang, Bronwen Forbay, Shannon Mowday, Pieter Hugo, Akin Omotoso 2008 Dada Masilo, Nontsikelelo ‘Lolo’ Veleko, Jaco Bouwer, Mark Fransman, Zanne Stapelberg 2009 Thabo Rapoo, Kesivan Naidoo, Nicholas Hlobo, Jacques Imbrailo, Ntshieng Mokgoro 2010 Mlu Zondi, Melanie Scholtz, Michael MacGarry, Samson Diamond, Janni Younge, Claire Angelique 2011 Neil Coppen, Ben Schoeman, Nandipha Mntambo, Mamela Nyamza, Bokani Dyer 2012 Kelebogile (Pearl) Boikanyo, Mikhael Subotzky, Princess Zinzi Mhlongo, Bailey Snyman, Afrika Mkhize

About The Standard Bank Young Artist Awards The Young Artist Awards were started in 1981 by the National Arts Festival to acknowledge emerging, relatively young South African artists who have displayed an outstanding talent in their artistic endeavours. These prestigious awards are presented annually to deserving artists in different disciplines, affording them national exposure and acclaim. Standard Bank took over the sponsorship of the awards in 1984 and presented Young Artist Awards in all the major arts disciplines over their 29-year sponsorship, as well as posthumous and special recognition awards. The winners feature on the main programme of the National Arts Festival, Grahamstown and receive financial support for their Festival participation, as well as a cash prize.




TEL : 011 446 7061/46

CELL : 082 820 8584

EMAIL : gilly@thefamousidea.co.za

Related Posts

Scroll to Top